DRAFT 12/4/13

<u>Meeting Summary</u> Mandatory Student Fee Advisory Committee Friday, November 15, 2013 -- 3:00-4:00 P.M

1. Welcome and Minutes

Committee members introduced themselves. Per the attached attendance list, all student members were either present or represented by a substitute. The two faculty members had conflicts, but Jim Kirk will have meetings with each to go over the Committee functions. The minutes for the February 6, 2013 meeting (posted on website) were reviewed but were previously approved by the 2012-13 committee.

2. Committee Responsibilities and Operations

Jim Kirk reviewed for the Committee the following:

- BOR Business Procedures Manual Section on Fees
- GT Policy Statement and Role of Committee
- Operational Ground Rules

The committee elected Trevor Lindsay as committee co-chair by acclamation.

3. Review of Current Mandatory Fees

Jim Kirk provided an overview of Georgia Tech's mandatory fees, with reference to several documents included on the Committee's <u>website</u>. The following staff presented overviews of their respective program areas funded by mandatory fees:

- Transportation Lance Lunsway and David Williamson
- Student Health Greg Moore
- Athletics Frank Hardymon

4. FY14 and FY15 Budget and Fee Outlook

Jim Kirk provided a brief budget overview for Fiscal 2015 and referenced the letter from the Chancellor, which provides instructions that there will be no mandatory fee increases for Fiscal 2015 with few exceptions. However, the Committee continues to have the responsibility for reviewing the budgets and existing fee levels for all mandatory fee areas.

5. Announcement of Dates:

- A. Due Date for FY15 Fee Requests Monday, November 25, 2013
- B. Next Meetings Friday, December 06, 2013, 2:00 PM 4:00 PM Student Center Room 332 and early January (TBA)

Submitted by Committee Co-Chair Jim Kirk, November 27, 2013

MANDATORY STUDENT FEE ADVISORY COMMITTEE Attendance – November 15, 2013 Meeting

Member	Attendance
<u>Students</u> (8 members)	
Laura Tucker (U), Executive Vice President Undergraduate Student Body	Represented by Laura Burbock
Mary Shoemaker (U)	Present
Ahsan Khan (U)	Present
Trevor Lindsay, (U) Vice President of Finance, MSFAC Co-Chair	Present
Nicholas Picon, (U) Undergraduate Student Body President	Present
Arren Washington, (G) President Graduate Student Body	Present
Johann Weber, (G) Executive Vice President Graduate Student Body	Present
Ryan Bowman, (G) Senator, Graduate Student Body	Present
<u>Faculty and Staff</u> (4 members including 2 faculty and the Budget Director)	
Jim Kirk, Exec Dir-Inst. Budget Planning & Administration (Co-Chair, MSFAC)	Present
Carla Zachery, Chief Administrative and Finance Officer, Scheller College of Business	Present
Colin Potts, Vice Provost for Undergraduate Education	Absent
Laurence Jacobs, Associate Dean, College of Engineering	Absent
Support to Committee	
Support to Committee: Tina Clonts, Institute Budget Planning and	
Administration	

Other Staff in Attendance:

John Stein, Bill Shafer, Greg Moore, Lance Lunsway, David Williamson, John Weber, Sherry Davidson, Lisa Safstrom, Barbara Hanschke, John Scuderi, Michael Edwards, Kim Harrington, Daniel Taylor, Paul Strouts, Ninh Tran, Frank Hardymon.