DRAFT 11/10/14

<u>Meeting Summary</u> Mandatory Student Fee Advisory Committee Wednesday, November 5, 2014

1. Welcome and Minutes

Committee members introduced themselves. Per the attached attendance list, all student members except one were present. The two faculty and staff members were represented by substitutes. The minutes for the January 17, 2014 meeting (posted on website) were reviewed but were previously approved by the 2013-14 committee.

2. Committee Responsibilities and Operations

Jim Kirk reviewed for the Committee the following:

- BOR Business Procedures Manual Section on Fees
- GT Policy Statement and Role of Committee
- Operational Ground Rules

The committee elected Justin Eisenberg and Johnathan Lyon as committee joint committee chairs with Jim Kirk by acclamation.

3. Review of Current Mandatory Fees

Jim Kirk provided an overview of Georgia Tech's mandatory fees, with reference to several documents included on the Committee's <u>website</u>. The following staff presented overviews of their respective program areas funded by mandatory fees:

- Transportation David Williamson
- Student Health John Scuderi
- Athletics Marvin Lewis

4. FY15 and FY16 Budget and Fee Outlook

Jim Kirk provided a brief budget overview for Fiscal 2015 and referenced the letter from the Chancellor, which provides instructions strictly limiting mandatory fee increases for Fiscal 2016, with few exceptions.

5. Announcement of Dates:

- A. Due Date for FY15 Fee Requests Monday, November 10, 2014
- B. Next Meetings Friday, December 08, 2014, 3:00 PM 5:00 PM Student Center and early January (TBA)

Submitted by Committee Co-Chair Jim Kirk, November 10, 2014

MSFAC MEETING ATTENDANCE FISCAL 2015 COMMITTEE TO CONSIDER FISCAL 2016 FEES Wednesday, November 05, 2014

Weinesuay, November 05, 2014	
Member	Attendance
Students (8 members)	
Laura Burbach, (U) Vice President of Academic Affairs, SGA	Absemt
Justin Eisenberg, (U) Vice President of Campus Organizations, SGA	Present
Macie Whatley, (U) Vice President of Communications, SGA	Present
Trevor Lindsay, (U) Vice President of Finance	Present
Dillon Roseen, (U) Undergraduate Student Body President	Present
Johnathan Lyon, (G) Graduate President, SGA	Present
Daegene Koh, (G) Graduate Executive VP, SGA	Present
Marc Canellas, (G) Graduate VP of Communications, SGA	Present
<u>Faculty and Staff (4 members including 2 faculty and the</u> Budget Director)	
Jim Kirk, Exec Dir-Inst. Budget Planning & Administration (Co- Chair, MSFAC) <i>Travis Chambers - attending on behalf of</i> Carla Zachery, Sr. Dir-	Present
Business Operations, Scheller College of Business	Present
Steven Girardot - attending on behalf of Colin Potts, Vice Provost for Undergraduate Education Emily Hawall, attending on behalf of Lawrence Leaphs	Present
Emily Howell - attending on behalf of Laurence Jacobs, Associate Dean, College of Engineering	Present
Support to Committee:	
Dan Taylor, Tina Clonts, Institute Budget Planning and	

Administration

Other Student and Staff in Attendance:

Brian Shin, Bill Shafer, Christie Stewart, David Williamson, Rich Steele, Marvin Lewis, John Scuderi, Pat Burton, Tamara Lyons, Ninh Tran.